fbpx
News, Real-estate 28 June 2016

Dubai and its interesting tax system

Invest in Dubai for 10 % rental return, for a pied à terre or for numerous fiscal advantages:

Double taxation agreements

United Arab Emirates do not levy taxes; this is why the country is very attractive due to the reduction of taxes in the foreign jurisdiction on profits transferred abroad by companies operating in the UAE.
Normally, dividends paid by a company of the UAE for another company that signed the double taxation agreement can’t impose the foreign company. Also, when a foreigner creates a new company or subsidiary, he or she depends on the imposition of the UAE and, therefore, doesn’t pay taxes, either in Dubai or in the company’s country.

Fiscal advantages
The UAE federation was established in 1971 by the consolidation of seven emirats, including Dubai. The constitution provides that individuals don’t pay income taxes but that companies do. However, companies part of a Free Zone in Dubai can be exempted and avoid paying income taxes by indicating the free zone they are established in.

Free zones
In 1985, the Emir of Dubai wanted to diversify the country’s regional economy, largely based on oil, by attracting foreign companies. He then created the first free zone “Jebel Ali Free Zone” in which foreign companies can benefit from very interesting tax advantages. In this free zone, companies can also avoid corporate taxes for 15 years and low tariffs (4%) or even avoid them. Because the free zone was very successful, several other “specialized” free zone were created. These specialized, or “theme” zones, aim to regroup companies by business activity.
Advantages of the free zones:
– Foreign company had 100% control
– Total repatriation of capital and profits
– No limitation of work permits
– Investors have no obligation to work with a local partner

Other reasons for free zones economic success
Dubai’s success is not only based of fiscal advantages. Other advantages incite companies to settle in Dubai:
– Dubai is a front door to the Middle East
– Dubai benefits from an interesting geographical situation: halfway between Asia and Europe
– Cheap labor cost
– Political stability very appreciated by residents, investors and tourists.
– Modern infrastructures that help establishment and expansion of foreign companies.

dubai-256585_1920

Héloïse Schillio
Posted by

Héloïse Schillio

le 28 June 2016

ACTUALITÉS, Immobilier 28 juin 2016

Dubaï et ses avantages fiscaux

Investissez à Dubaï pour des rendements locatifs à 10%, pour un pied à terre ou pour les nombreux avantages fiscaux :

Accords de double imposition
Les Emirats Arabes Unis ne prélèvent pas d’impôts ce qui rend le territoire plus attractif grâce à une réduction des impôts prélevés dans « la juridiction étrangère sur les bénéfices transférés à l’étranger par des sociétés opérant aux Emirats Arabes Unis ».
En règle générale, les dividendes payés par une société des Emirats Arabes Unis pour une autre société ayant signé la convention de double imposition ne peut pas imposer la société mère étrangère.
De plus, lorsqu’un étranger créer une nouvelle société ou une filiale d’une société, il dépend de l’imposition des Emirats Arabes Unis et, par conséquent, ne paye pas d’impôts, que ce soit à Dubaï ou dans son pays d’origine.

Avantages fiscaux
La fédération des Emirats Arabes Unis a été établie en 1971 par le regroupement des 7 émirats, dont Dubaï. La constitution prévoit que les individus ne payent pas d’impôts sur le revenu mais elle prévoit des impôts sur les entreprises. Toutefois, les entreprises établies dans la « Free Zone » à Dubaï peuvent bénéficier d’exceptions permettant d’éviter des impôts sur leurs revenus, en mentionnant les zones franches où elles sont installées.

Zones franches
En 1985, l’Emir de Dubaï souhaite diversifier l’économie régionale du pays, basée en grande partie sur le pétrole, en attirant des entreprises étrangères. Il crée alors la première zone franche « Jebel Ali Free Zone » dans laquelle les entreprises étrangères peuvent bénéficier d’avantages fiscaux très intéressants. Dans cette zone franche, les entreprises bénéficient d’un congé d’impôts corporatif sur une période de 15 ans, de tarifs douaniers très bas (4%) voire nuls. Fort du succès de cette première zone franche, plusieurs autres zones franches dites « spécialisées » ont été créées. Ces zones spécialisées, ou à thèmes, ont pour but de regrouper des sociétés par secteurs d’activités.
Avantages des zones franches :
– Contrôle à 100% par l’entreprise étrangère
– Rapatriement total du capital et des profits
– Pas de restriction sur les permis de travail
– L’investisseur n’est en aucun cas obligé de se lier à un partenaire local

Autres raisons du succès économiques des free zones
Le succès de Dubaï ne concerne pas seulement les avantages fiscaux. D’autres avantages incitent les entreprises à s’y installer :
– Dubaï est une porte d’entrée sur le Moyen Orient
– Dubaï bénéficie d’une situation géographique intéressante : à mi-chemin entre l’Asie et l’Europe
– Main d’œuvre peu coûteuse
– Stabilité politique fortement appréciée des résidents, investisseurs et touristiques.
– Infrastructure moderne qui facilite l’établissement et le développement des entreprises étrangères.

dubai-256585_1920

Héloïse Schillio
Posté par

Héloïse Schillio

le 28 juin 2016